Quick Links

Useful Links

Paddock School

Early Years Foundation Stage

In the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) there are 7 areas of learning. 

There are the 3 prime areas that support the development of curiosity and a love of learning:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional development
  • Physical Development

The 3 prime areas are strengthened and applied in the 4 specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play, and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activities. The Early Years team at Paddock respond to each child’s emerging needs and interests, guiding their development through warm, positive interactions. Every child is different and their learning journey at Paddock will be personalised to reflect this. 

There is a focus on understanding school routines, developing readiness for learning/accessing groups, functional communication, attention skills, developing early interaction and play skills, independence and following personal care routines. . Pupils’ learning is personalised to maximise engagement and progress. The learning environment is both highly structured and low-arousal to meet the needs of the pupils and learning happens in small groups as well as 1:1 interventions.

The pupils access on-site facilities (including soft play, sensory room and shared larger play equipment) to develop ability in transitioning to places around school which builds towards off-site opportunities, such as Lady Allen adventure playground.

These experiences not only enhance curriculum learning but also encourages pupils to develop their confidence, independence, curiosity and social interactions.